WARNING: Vancouver International Acting and Screenplay Contest

by Kenji Maeda on November 28, 2010

Post image for WARNING: Vancouver International Acting and Screenplay Contest

Update (Jan 11): We have written a detailed follow-up article about this contest.
Update (Jan 12): Since writing our follow-p article, the contest website has been deleted. To view screenshots of the website click here.

Have you heard about the Vancouver International Acting and Screenplay Contest?  Their website is www.VanInternationalActingContest.com.

You may have seen posts popping up on Facebook, craigslist, and other websites about this contest. Essentially, they’re asking you to pay a $25 entry fee for this contest where you submit a demo reel with two monologues as your entry.

I am very suspicious of this so-called-contest and highly recommend that you do not give them any money for many reasons:

  1. There’s no information about who or what company is managing this contest. If they were legitimate they should have no problem saying who they are.
  2. They have no information about which of “North America’s top talent agencies” are involved.
  3. They have reported that “Last years winner of the acting contest got a guest appearance on NBC’S “Community”.” (posted on their craigslist ad) but they have not provided the name of this person.
  4. And best of all, here’s what they said about the types of monologues you could submit:

The genres of the monologues can be any you like as long as they are contrasting each other. You must pick two of drama, comedy, horror, silent, or any other genre and make a demo reel of yourself.

Did you catch the genre that seems to be out of place?  – Well, I for one would certainly love to do a two minute monologue from a SILENT film.

To be very clear, we had sent an email to the address provided on their website (info@vaninternationalactingcontest.com) for further information but have not received any response.  Further digging shows that the registration fee goes to the owner of the email address: chahal_89@hotmail.com. (update: Since we published our article, the email address receiving the paypal funds has changed to their generic “submissions@” email address)

If the person or persons who are responsible for this contest can provide further details about the contest, then we would love to hear from them so we can get their side of the story. Until then we can only rely on what they provided on their website and marketing materials.

This does bring up a good lesson for everyone that you do everything you can to properly research the company that you are going to hand over your hard earned money to

Buyer beware!

We will update this post if we receive further details or clarification about this contest.

{ 6 comments… read them below or add one }

james m December 7, 2010 at 3:51 pm

i agree with all you say, fair play, needs to be done

Dianne Freedman December 20, 2010 at 7:08 pm

I was a finalist in last years contest and can say that this IS a legit contest! I posted in the actors guide facebook group and have sent kenji maeda an email. Hopefully this can clear things up about this contest.

Kenji Maeda December 20, 2010 at 7:15 pm

Hi Dianne. I received your email and have replied back. As of yet, this does not clear up anything as you have not provided any evidence that this is legitimate. I will await your response via email and continue a discussion on this matter.


James December 29, 2010 at 12:43 am

Glad you’ve posted this and it’s a shame that things like this are popping up. As a community we need to look out for those desperate enough that these contests might be appealing.

It’s a bogus deal, and Dianne — whatever ‘proof’ you have, I’m sorry to say that in the world of Hollywood – it means nothing. There’s no record of this contest, no proof of it and no agents know of it. Even if it was legitimate, the people involved are just scamming you out of your money because of their utter ineffectiveness.

Elaine Dawson March 2, 2011 at 12:44 am

Hi this contest is legit my daughter is a semi finalist the comments they said about her were amazing We will be entering next year. We are really proud of her

Elaine Dawson

Kenji Maeda March 3, 2011 at 2:29 pm

Hi Elaine,
Perhaps you didn’t read the follow-up article that was written about this contest.

If you can send over the comments or feedback they provided your daughter, I’d love to take a look at them. You can send them to info@vancouveractorsguide.com.

Leave a Comment


{ 1 trackback }

Previous post:

Next post:

Visit us on Facebook! Follow us on Twitter! Follow us through RSS!